Roberta Zurn Outstanding Woman in Leadership Award

Roberta Zurn (May 13, 1917 to December 13, 2003) was an extraordinary philanthropist whose legacy lives on through the Women’s Fund of Greater La Crosse and the Roberta Zurn Outstanding Women in Leadership Award. Roberta attended the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, UW-La Crosse and the University of Minnesota, where she received both bachelor’s and master’s degrees.

Roberta Zurn had a love for children and taught elementary school for 32 years. She was a member of Delta Kappa Gamma, Retired Teachers of Wisconsin and Minnesota, the County Historical Society, Friends of the Public Library, the American Association of University Women (AAUW), and a member of First Presbyterian Church. She was a dedicated volunteer who served others.

In that spirit, the Women’s Fund honors her memory by awarding The Roberta Zurn Outstanding Women in Leadership Award to women in our community who have encouraged the advancement of women and girls. The winner for 2021 will be announced at the Women’s Spring Event.

Recipients are awared $1,000. $500 is to be donated to the charity of her choice and $500 to be used for personal development. The winner may also choose to give the entire award to charity.

Prior Recipients

2020 Patty Barge
2019 Linda Riddle
2018 Sister Marlene Weisenbeck
2017 Rosalie “Roz” Schnick
2016 Sandra Krajewski & Elizabeth (Bets) Reedy
2015 Dee Paque
2014 Patricia A. Boge
2013 Helen Davig
2012 Norene Smith
2011 Barbara Frank
2010 Jean Marck
2009 Marian Ramlow
2008 Roberta Gelatt & Signe Schroeder (founding members)
2007 Jean Bassett
2006 Sister Leclare Beres
2005 June Kjome